Principles of Design Thinking- (Stages of Design Thinking)

seo company
Photo by Nikita Kachanovsky on Unsplash
figure 1

Design thinking requires empathy. The world can do with more than empathy and this reaching out of trying to understand another person’s perspective engenders the sense of compassion. It is applied to learn thus, It’s not just dry learning out of context. Design thinking can certainly help with learning design problems are interesting unique as well. And also, Design thinking is a help to avoiding the pitfalls of imposing the wrong solution on a community.

There have 5 stages in the design thinking process to follow. The five stages of Design Thinking, according to Empathise, Define, Ideate, Prototype, and Test. Let’s take a closer look at the five different stages of Design Thinking.

(Figure 2) Process of design thinking

1. Empathize

The first stage is that Empathize the user. This is where you’ll sit with real consumers and end-users to understand their point of view. Empathy requires understanding the pain points and the day by day truth of your target audience. It additionally requires some information about learner’s motivations and needs, which probably won’t be self-evident.

  • Ask What-How-Why
  • Ask the 5 whys
  • Conduct interviews with empathy
  • Build empathy with analogies
  • Use photo and video user-based studies
  • Use personal photo and video journals
  • Engage with extreme users
  • Story share-and-capture
  • Bodystorm
(Figure 3) Google Glass

2. Define

The second stage is Defined as a problem. Empathize help to define the problem. ?Therefore, This stage-based on What you have learned about your customers and the context. Therefore, This is the place you will examine your perceptions and integrate them so as to characterize the centre issues that you and your team have distinguished as yet. Designers in your team assemble incredible plans to set up highlights, functions, and whatever other components that will enable them to take care of the issues or, at any rate, enable users to determine issues themselves with the base of trouble.

(Figure 3) Example of Define
  • Broad enough for creative freedom. This means that the problem statement should not focus too narrowly on a specific method regarding the implementation of the solution. The problem statement should also not list technical requirements, as this would unnecessarily restrict the team and prevent them from exploring areas that might bring unexpected value and insight to the project.
  • Narrow enough to make it manageable. On the other hand, a problem statement such as, “Improve the human condition,” is too broad and will likely cause team members to easily feel daunted.

3. Ideate

(Figure 4) brainstorm the idea

4. Prototype

(Figure 5) Photo by José Alejandro Cuffia on Unsplash

5. Test

The final stage of the Design Thinking process is Test. The purpose of testing is to learn what works and what doesn’t and then iterate. Start building, Don’t spend too long on one prototype, Build with the user in mind. For example, prototyping can be attempted at an opportune time in the task — in front of ideation — so as to find increasingly about the user. Basic models can be created, test thoughts, yet to see increasingly about how users work once a day.

(Figure 6)

— Keep in your mind, You test only your prototypes not that user —

When you’re testing your solution, it may be useful to have empathy with your customer or the situation and sometimes, you need to re-define your problem in the light of the latest developments. Then, empathy ensures you to address the real problem and give meaning to your solution. the amazing thing about the five-stage Design Thinking model is that it systematises and distinguishes the 5 stages/modes you would hope to complete in a design venture and in any inventive critical thinking venture.

Website Design & SEO Delray Beach by

Delray Beach SEO